Following Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery, Bayern Munich have a new No.10 and No.7 pair in Leroy Sane and Serge Gnabry. - © imago images/getty images
Following Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery, Bayern Munich have a new No.10 and No.7 pair in Leroy Sane and Serge Gnabry. - © imago images/getty images

From Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery to Leroy Sane and Serge Gnabry: a new era for Bayern Munich's No.10 and No.7

Bayern Munich's No.10 and No.7 shirts were occupied by two men over the last decade in Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery. Now, after winning their second continental treble, two of the club’s most iconic shirt numbers embark on a new era with Leroy Sane and Serge Gnabry taking the honours.

The era of one of Bayern's most powerful playing duos began way back on Saturday 29 August 2009 and came to an end on 18 May 2019. After 10 years together, Robben's and Ribery's era as the record Bundesliga champions' No.10 and No.7 came to an end.

Now, after a season of waiting, a new era with the two legendary jersey numbers will commence with Sane joining the club this summer and being handed Robben's former No.10, while Gnabry has been rewarded with his incredible performances through 2019/20 to be named the club's new No.7.

"I'm delighted to wear this number moving forward," Gnabry said. "Franck always thrilled the fans, which gives me even more motivation."

While Robben's 10 jersey was given to Philippe Coutinho for the 2019/20 season, Ribery's 7 was vacant for the campaign. It’s a number that was worn by Mehmet Scholl from 1995 to 2007. Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge is a previous wearer of the shirt, as is head coach Hansi Flick.

Sane showed particular class on being named the club's new No.10 following arrival from Manchester City. He refused to be photographed with it with Barcelona loanee Coutinho still playing in the club's push through to the end of the campaign.

Serge Gnabry (l.) and Leroy Sane (r.) are looking to take their form together on the international stage into their club careers together at Bayern Munich. - imago

"Out of respect for Philippe Coutinho, who is the current No.10, Sane decided not to use the number in his photos on Thursday," Bayern stated after his announcement.

Like in the 'Robbery' era at Bayern, many supporting casts were involved in keeping the legendary pair's motivation alive. The likes of Xherdan Shaqiri, Douglas Costa and Mario Götze all backed-up the iconic pair over the years and the same will be the case for Sane and Gnabry.

In the Flick era, Kingsley Coman is a key part of Bayern's attacking threat. The Frenchman scored the winning goal in Die Roten's UEFA Champions League final victory over Paris Saint-Germain in August, clinching the club's Bundesliga, DFB Cup and Champions League treble.

Watch: Fitting farewell to Bayern's 'Robbery'

While Sane and Gnabry have been handed the two iconic numbers at the Allianz Arena, Coman will be looking to make it a trio of legendary wingers in Munich in the coming years, rather than a duo.

In any case, with Bayern's Nos. 7, 10 and 29 in full flow, fear will be rife in any opposition defence no matter what jersey they come up against.