Bayern Munich have been drawn against Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League last 16. - © Getty Images
Bayern Munich have been drawn against Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League last 16. - © Getty Images

Dortmund draw PSG; Bayern and Leipzig get Chelsea and Tottenham in UEFA Champions League last 16


Borussia Dortmund will be reunited with former coach Thomas Tuchel after being paired with Paris Saint-Germain in the UEFA Champions League last 16, while Bayern Munich and RB Leipzig will face Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur respectively.

Dortmund’s reward for coming through a tough group that included Barcelona and Inter Milan is a meeting with French champions PSG, whose head coach Thomas Tuchel was in charge of BVB between 2015 and 2017. Lucien Favre’s side will be at home in the first leg in February before travelling to Paris in March.

Bayern Munich romped to the knockout stage by winning all six group matches, and Hansi Flick’s team must now negotiate a two-legged tie against Frank Lampard’s Chelsea in what is a repeat of the 2011/12 UEFA Champions League final. Having qualified as group winners, Bayern will have home advantage in the second leg.

Leipzig also topped their group and their first ever Champions League knockout clash will be against Tottenham Hotspur, who Bayern beat 7-2 away and 3-1 at home in the group stage. Like Bayern, Julian Nagelsmann’s Bundesliga leaders will first travel to London before hosting the second leg in Germany.

The last-16 knockout matches will be spread out over two months in 2019, with the first legs taking place on 18, 19, 25 and 26 February and the second legs slated for 10, 11, 17 and 18 March.

In the draw for the UEFA Europa League round of 32, Bayer Leverkusen will face 2010/11 winners Porto. Leverkusen finished third in their Champions League group to drop down to this stage of the Europa League, while Portuguese giants Porto lost in the Champions League qualifying rounds before topping their Europa League group ahead of Rangers, Young Boys, and Feyenoord.

Eintracht Frankfurt, who finished second in their group behind Arsenal, will take on Salzburg. The Austrian champions will travel to Germany for the first leg after finishing third behind Liverpool and Napoli in their Champions League group.

Wolfsburg were drawn to play Malmo at home in the first leg. The Swedish side qualified for this stage as group winners, finishing ahead of Copenhagen, Dynamo Kiev, and Lugano.

The first legs will take place on Thursday 20 February, with the return match in each tie being played a week later.