Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben go out in style as Bayern Munich clinch 2018/19 Bundesliga title with crushing win over Eintracht Frankfurt


Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben scored farewell goals as Bayern Munich claimed their seventh successive Bundesliga title with a 5-1 win over Eintracht Frankfurt in an eventful 2018/19 season finale at the Allianz Arena.

Bayern Munich 5-1 Eintracht Frankfurt
Goals: 1-0 Coman (4’), 1-1 Haller (50’), 2-1 Alaba (53’), 3-1 Sanches (58’), 4-1 Ribery (72'), 5-1 Robben (78')

Bayern knew a draw would be enough for the title, but took no chances in a dominant first-half display. Kingsley Coman settled the nerves after just four minutes, the Frenchman latching onto Thomas Müller’s beautifully weighted pass to calmly tuck away his sixth Bundesliga goal of 2019. David Alaba and Robert Lewandowski drew smart saves from Kevin Trapp, before Serge Gnabry had an effort ruled out for an offside decision against Lewandowski following lengthy consultation with the VAR. Jonathan de Guzman deflected a Coman cross against his own bar and Lewandowski met the outstretched boot of Trapp with the follow-up as Frankfurt somehow went in at the break only one goal behind.

Frankfurt made things interesting early in the second half when substitute Sebastien Haller bundled in a corner, but parity lasted all of three minutes. Trapp could only parry Müller’s low drive back out to David Alaba, who steamed in ahead of Danny da Costa to restart the party. Renato Sanches gave Bayern daylight with a bulldozing run and fierce finish from a tight angle, before Ribery and Robben entered the fray to rapturous applause ahead of their summer departures. Ribery added a fourth goal with a fine solo effort, and Robben duly followed suit from close range. The Dutchman went agonisingly close to his 100th Bundesliga goal late on as Bayern - having trailed Borussia Dortmund by nine points at one point in the season - cruised over the finish line to clinch their 28th Bundesliga title.

Bayern bid farewell to Arjen Robben, Rafinha and Franck Ribery before kick-off. - Alexander Hassenstein/Bongarts/Getty Images

Match stats

  • Frankfurt qualify for the Europa League second qualifying round, thanks to results elsewhere.
  • Lewandowski won his second successive top scorer's prize, and fourth overall, after finishing the season on 22 Bundesliga goals.
  • Bayern clinched the title for the first time at their Allianz Arena home, which opened in 2005.
  • Robben made his final Bundesliga appearance for Bayern. The Dutchman has scored 99 goals in 201 Bundesliga appearances.
  • Ribery has won a record-breaking nine Bundesliga titles - one more than fellow club legends Robben, Müller, Alaba, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Philipp Lahm, Oliver Kahn and Mehmet Scholl.
  • Kovac won the DFB Cup with Frankfurt last season, overseeing a 3-1 win over Bayern in the final. Bayern face Leipzig in this season's final on 25 May.
  • Frankfurt are winless in their last 17 Bundesliga meetings with Bayern since beating the record champions 2-1 in March 2010. They have not won in Munich since November 2000.


Bayern: Ulreich – Kimmich, Süle, Hummels, Alaba – Goretzka (Sanches 37'), Thiago – Gnabry (Robben 67'), Müller (c), Coman (Ribery 61') – Lewandowski
Unused subs: Hoffmann, Boateng, Rafinha, Davies
Out: James (calf), Martinez (shin splints), Neuer (calf), Früchtl (elbow)
Coach: Niko Kovac

Frankfurt: Trapp – Abraham (c), Hasebe, Hinteregger – da Costa, de Guzman (Haller 46'), Fernandes, Kostic – Gacinovic – Rebic (Torro 64'), Jovic
Unused subs: Rönnow, Falette, Toure, Chandler, Paciencia
Out: Rode (knee), Tawatha (ankle)
Coach: Adi Hütter

Watch: Bayern's title celebrations