"The boss wants to play Champions League-eligible players against Marseille, Leroy" - Robert Lewandowski (l.) will feature sooner than Leroy Sane (r.) for Bayern Munich this summer. - © CHRISTOF STACHE/AFP via Getty Images
"The boss wants to play Champions League-eligible players against Marseille, Leroy" - Robert Lewandowski (l.) will feature sooner than Leroy Sane (r.) for Bayern Munich this summer. - © CHRISTOF STACHE/AFP via Getty Images
bundesliga

Summer friendlies overview: What are Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund and the rest up to in July and August?

While most of us are enjoying a well-earned break in July and August, Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund and the rest of the Bundesliga will be working hard to prepare for the 2020/21 season.

To let you know what all 18 clubs are getting up to this summer, bundesliga.com has compiled a handy overview of their plans.

For most it's a question of training camps and friendlies, but five teams – Bayern, RB Leipzig, Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg and Eintracht Frankfurt – are still flying the Bundesliga flag in UEFA competition

Bayern Munich

First-team training resumed: 20 July
Summer training camp: 25 July-2 August (Audi Digital Summer Tour)
Friendly games: 1-0 vs. Olympique de Marseille (31 July), 3-0 vs. Bayern XI (1 August)
European ties: Chelsea (8 August, 9pm CEST/8pm BST/3pm ET), UEFA Champions League last 16 second leg (Bayern won the first leg in England 3-0)

Borussia Dortmund

First-team training resumes: 3 August
Summer training camp: 10-17 August in Bad Ragaz, Switzerland
Friendly games: SC Altach (12 August & 16 August, both 5pm CEST/4pm BST/11am ET), MSV Duisburg, Feyenoord (22 August, from 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET), SC Paderborn, VfL Bochum (28 August)
European ties: n/a

Watch: How does Jadon Sancho get his goals and assists for Dortmund?

RB Leipzig

First-team training resumed: 22 July
Summer training camp: n/a
Friendly games: 1-1 Wolfsburg 30 July
European ties: Atletico Madrid (13 August, 9pm CEST/8pm BST/3pm ET), UEFA Champions League quarter-final

Borussia Mönchengladbach

First-team training resumes: 4 August
Summer training camp: 17-23 August in Harsewinkel-Marienfeld, Germany
Friendly games: SC Verl (12 August, 5pm CEST/4pm BST/11am ET), MSV Duisburg (15 August, 2pm CEST/1pm BST/8am ET), SC Paderborn (22 August, 3pm CEST/2pm BST/9am ET)
European ties: n/a

Bayer Leverkusen

First-team training resumed: 23 July
Summer training camp: n/a
Friendly games: n/a
European ties: 1-0 vs. Rangers (6 August, UEFA Europa League last 16 second leg (Leverkusen won the first leg in Scotland 3-1), Inter Milan (10 August, 9pm CEST/8pm BST/ 3pm ET, UEFA Europa League quarter-final)

Watch: Is Kai Havertz a better striker than midfielder?

Hoffenheim

First-team training resumes: 5 August
Summer training camp: 16-23 August in Rottach-Egern, Germany
Friendly games: SV Wehen Wiesbaden (13 August, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET), Mainz (two games on 29 August, 1pm CEST/12pm BST/7am ET & 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

Wolfsburg

First-team training resumed: 25 July
Summer training camp: n/a
Friendly games: 1-1 RB Leipzig 30 July
European ties: 0-3 vs. Shakhtar Donetsk (5 August, UEFA Europa League last 16 second leg

Freiburg

First-team training resumes: 10 August
Summer training camp: 20-29 August in Schruns, Austria
Friendly games: Karlsruher (15 August)
European ties: n/a

Eintracht Frankfurt

First-team training resumed: 27 July
Summer training camp: n/a
Friendly games: 1-1 AS Monaco (1 August)
European ties: 0-1 vs. Basel (6 August, UEFA Europa League last 16 second leg)

Watch: The 2019/20 season in review

Hertha Berlin

First-team training resumed: 28 July
Summer training camp: n/a
Friendly games: 2-1 vs. Hertha XI (1 August), St. Etienne (7 August, CANCELLED), Viktoria Köln (14 August), Ajax (25 August), PSV Eindhoven (27 August), Hamburg (5 September)
European ties: n/a

Union Berlin

First-team training resumed: 27 July
Summer training camps: 30 July-2 August in Bad Saarow, Germany & 17-25 August in Bad Wörishofen, Germany
Friendly games: 3-1 Energie Cottbus (8 August), Würzburger Kickers (12 August, 3.00pm CEST/2.00pm BST/9.00am ET), Dynamo Dresden (15 August, 3.00pm CEST/2.00pm BST/9.00am ET)
European ties: n/a

Schalke

First-team training resumes: 3 August
Summer training camps: 7-10 August in Herzlake, Germany & 21-29 August in Längenfeld, Austria
Friendly games: VfL Osnabrück (9 August), Viktoria Köln (2 September), VfL Bochum (5 September, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

Mainz

First-team training resumes: 4 August
Summer training camp: 17-22 August in Mainz, Germany
Friendly games: Würzburger Kickers (15 August, 2.30pm CEST/1.30pm BST/8.30am ET), VfB Stuttgart (19 August, 4pm CEST/3pm BST/10am ET), SV Sandhausen (22 August, 2pm CEST/1pm BST/8am ET), Hoffenheim (two games on 29 August, 1pm CEST/12pm BST/7am ET & 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

Cologne

First-team training resumes: 5 August
Summer training camp: 20-29 August in Donaueschingen, Germany
Friendly games: SpVg. Porz (11 August), Blau-Weiß Lohne, SV Deutz 05 (both 15 August, 2pm CEST/1pm BST/8am ET & 4pm CEST/3pm BST/10am ET), VfL Bochum (18 August, 3pm CEST/2pm BST/9am ET), FC Utrecht (5 September, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

Augsburg

First-team training resumes: 3 August
Summer training camp: TBA
Friendly games: SV Heimstetten (8 August, 3:30pm CEST/2:30pm BST/9:30am ET), SpVgg Unterhaching (12 August, TBC), Nuremberg (15 August, TBC)
European ties: n/a

Werder Bremen

First-team training resumes: 3 August
Summer training camp: 15-25 August in Zillertal, Austria
Friendly games: Eintracht Braunschweig (9 August, 1pm CEST/12pm BST/7am ET), Linzer ASK (19 August, 5pm CEST/4pm BST/11am ET), SC Austria Lustenau (24 August, 1pm CEST/12pm BST/7am ET), FC Groningen, St. Pauli (both 29 August, 3pm CEST/2pm BST/9am ET & 5.15pm CEST/4.15pm BST/11.15am ET), Hannover (5 September, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

Werder Bremen will be back in the Bundesliga in 2020/21 after beating Heidenheim in the play-off - and giving veteran Claudio Pizarro the perfect send-off. - Pressefoto Rudel/Robin Rudel/Poo/Pressefoto Rudel/gumzmedia/nordp

Arminia Bielefeld

First-team training resumes: 6 August
Summer training camp: 23-30 August in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser, Austria
Friendly games: FC Preußen Espelkamp (9 August, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET), VfL Osnabrück (15 August, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET), SC Verl (18 August, 6pm CEST/5pm BST/12pm ET), MSV Duisburg (5 September, 3.30pm CEST/2.30pm BST/9.30am ET)
European ties: n/a

VfB Stuttgart

First-team training resumes: 3 August
Summer training camp: 22-29 August in Kitzbühel, Austria
Friendly games: 6-1 vs. SV Sandhausen (8 August), Olympique de Marseille (14 August, 5pm CEST/4pm BST/11am ET), Mainz (19 August, 4pm CEST/3pm BST/10am ET)
European ties: n/a