Christopher Nkunku named April Player of the Month!


RB Leipzig attacker Christopher Nkunku has won the Bundesliga Player of the Month Award for April, picking up the gong for a fourth time in 2021/22, fending off competition from Serge Gnabry, Filip Kostic, Christian Günter, Mark Uth and Grischa Prömel.

This season once again the Bundesliga has been officially recognising outstanding individual performances with the Player of the Month award. The award, created by the DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga in 2018/19 in cooperation with the Bundesliga's official licensing partner, EA Sports, is decided through a two-stage selection process that considers both the players' individual performance data and a vote by fans and experts.

>> More on the Player of the Month Award!

The winner

Christopher Nkunku (RB Leipzig)

It's gotten to the point where you can almost copy and paste Nkunku's entry from month to month, such is the consistency of the Frenchman this season. He has already claimed the Player of the Month Award for October, February and March, and Nkunku has a good chance of collecting a fourth trophy of the campaign, which would also be his third in succession. "He's made incredible development," said Leipzig managing director Oliver Mintzlaff. "In the first half of the season he was already one of the best players ... he went to the next level again under Domenico [Tedesco] and he will do so again next season."

With two goals and four assists in April alone, it is just Uth that has been involved in more goals this month than Nkunku, who now has 17 league goals and 13 assists to his name in 2021/22. The clinical Frenchman converted 50 percent of his shots into goals this month and 80 percent of his passes to a shot resulted in his teammates finding the pack of the net.

>> Click here to enter for the chance to win exclusive prizes, including an in-game FUT item from the Player of the Month!

Previous winners

March 2022: Christopher Nkunku

February 2022: Christopher Nkunku

January 2022: Thomas Müller

December 2021: Patrik Schick

November 2021: Alphonso Davies

October 2021: Christopher Nkunku

September 2021: Florian Wirtz

August 2021: Erling Haaland