bundesliga

Borussia Dortmund host Bayern Munich in 2019 Supercup

Double-winners Bayern Munich will take on Borussia Dortmund at the Signal Iduna Park in the season-opening 2019 Supercup on 3 August.

Read: Supercup team news

The one-off match is traditionally held between the winners of the DFB Cup and the Bundesliga champions from the previous season, but because Bayern completed a domestic double in 2018/19 with their cup final win over RB Leipzig, they will face Bundesliga runners-up Dortmund.

The fixture will take place at the Signal Iduna Park (kick-off: 8.30pm CEST/7.30pm BST/2.30pm ET), a week before the first round of the DFB Cup and two before Bayern kick off the Bundesliga campaign at the Allianz Arena on 16 August.

This will be the sixth time Bayern and Dortmund have contested the Supercup since it was re-introduced in 2010, with the Munich club leading the head-to-head with three victories.

Watch: Highlights of the last Supercup Klassiker

Germany’s record league and cup winners are also the most successful team in Supercup history with seven titles – two more than Dortmund.

Bayern are currently three-time holders after beating Eintracht Frankfurt 5-0 in Niko Kovac’s first match, while they won the last Supercup Klassiker on penalties in Dortmund after the game ended 2-2 in 90 minutes (no extra-time is played).