Bayern Munich pip Borussia Dortmund to title with Cologne win


Jamal Musiala scored a dramatic late winner in Cologne as Bayern Munich claimed their 11th Bundesliga title in a row after rivals Borussia Dortmund drew at home to Mainz on a dramatic conclusion to the 2022/23 season.

Cologne 1-2 Bayern Munich
0-1 Coman 8' (assist: Sane), 1-1 Ljubicic pen. 81', 1-2 Musiala (89')

Needing a win and a favour from Mainz at pre-game leaders Dortmund, Bayern made the perfect start. Leroy Sane drove forwards and dropped off a pass for Kingsley Coman, who cut inside on the edge of the area and fired into the far corner with eight minutes gone. Better was to come as news filtered through of a Mainz goal, putting Bayern - with two points to make up at the start of play - back on course for the title. Thomas Müller hit the woodwork, before the visiting fans shared news of another Mainz goal at the Signal Iduna Park. Bayern thought they'd doubled their lead late in a first half in which Cologne held their own for long periods without seriously testing Yann Sommer, but Sane's cute finish was ruled out upon VAR review for an earlier handball.

Bayern had to withstand heavy Cologne pressure at times, knowing an equaliser would take the title away from them again. Davie Selke went agonisingly close to dashing the visitors' hopes, but his header from a Florian Kainz corner was brilliantly beaten away by Yann Sommer. The Billy Goats were almost caught out when Marvin Schwäbe flapped at a cross, with Julian Chabot stealing in to prevent Noussair Mazraoui from putting the loose ball into the unguarded net. The pressure went up a notch with news of a Raphael Guerreiro goal halving the deficit for Dortmund, before Ellyes Skhiri stabbed over following a corner. After Bayern substitute Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting shot wide in a moment of respite for the defending champions, Cologne's persistence was rewarded. A VAR check revealed a handball in the penalty area, with Dejan Ljubicic stepping up to level from the penalty spot. Schwäbe thwarted Sane as Bayern threw the kitchen sink, but the loose ball was worked back to Musiala to fire in from 18 yards. Dortmund scored a late leveller against Mainz, but could not find a winner as Bayern took the title on goal difference.

Watch: Bayern lift the title

Match stats

  • Bayern are the sixth team to regain top spot on the final day, having done so twice themselves in 1985/86 and 1999/00. They have won 32 Bundesliga titles.
  • Goal difference decided the Bundesliga title for the first time in 23 years, and seventh overall.
  • Tuchel wins his first Bundesliga title, Müller his record-extending 12th.
  • Musiala scored his 12th Bundesliga goal of the season - his best return yet.
  • Jonas Hector made his 346th and final competitive appearances for Cologne (228 in the Bundesliga).

See how your Fantasy team fared on Matchday 34!

Hans-Joachim Watzke, Spokesperson of the DFL Executive Committee: “Congratulations to FC Bayern München on winning the Bundesliga title. I would like to commend the entire organisation, including the coaching staff and the team, on successfully defending the title after a highly exciting season.”


Cologne: Schwäbe - Schmitz (Huseinbasic 62'), Hübers, Chabot, Hector (c) - Skhiri, Martel - Ljubicic (Pedersen 82'), Kainz (Schindler 62'), Maina (Lemperle 82') - Selke (Thielmann 62')
Unused subs: Horn, Kilian, Limnios, Olesen
Out: Adamyan (foot), Dietz (cruciate ligament), Tigges (shoulder), Uth (pelvis)
Coach: Steffen Baumgart

Bayern: Sommer - Pavard, Upamecano, de Ligt, Mazraoui (Musiala 85') - Kimmich, Gravenberch (Goretzka 71' (Tel 85')) - Sane, Müller (c) (Cancelo 62'), Coman (Choupo-Moting 71') - Gnabry
Unused subs: Ulreich, Mane, Stanisic
Out: Davies (thigh), Hernandez (knee), Neuer (broken leg)
Coach: Thomas Tuchel