Robert Lewandowski and Bayern Munich will play Marseille as part of the Audi Digital Summer Tour. - © DFL
Robert Lewandowski and Bayern Munich will play Marseille as part of the Audi Digital Summer Tour. - © DFL
bundesliga

Bayern Munich to play Marseille in summer friendly

Bayern Munich will take on French side Marseille as part of their Audi Digital Summer Tour. The game will kick-off at 4pm CEST/3pm BST/10am ET on Friday 31 July at the FC Bayern Campus.

"The Audi Football Summit against Marseille comes at an optimal time in our preparations for the second leg of the Champions League round of 16 against Chelsea," said Bayern coach Hansi Flick.

"The team and our coaching staff will be working with great focus to make sure we pick up where we left off with our performances in the Bundesliga and the DFB Cup final in this game."

Flick steered Bayern to the double of Bundesliga and DFB Cup in his first season in charge at the Allianz Arena, having succeeded Niko Kovac as coach last November.

Bayern also have one foot in the UEFA Champions League 'final eight' tournament to be played in Lisbon next month having beaten Chelsea 3-0 in the first leg of their last 16 tie.

Marseille are the only French team to have previously won the competition, lifting the Champions League trophy at Munich's old Olympic Stadium back in 1993 thanks to a 1-0 win over AC Milan.

Franck Ribery, Daniel Van Buyten, Jean Pierre-Papin and Bixente Lizarazu are among the players to have turned out for both clubs over the years.