Borussia Dortmund have bolstered their attacking options with the signing of striker Paco Alcacer from Barcelona. The Spain international has signed a one-year loan deal at the Signal Iduna Park with an option to make the deal permanent.

"I'm really looking forward to playing in the Bundesliga," Alcacer told the official Dortmund website. "It's one of the best leagues in the world and the unbelievable fans and the famous Yellow Wall terrace make Dortmund something magical for any footballer."

Dortmund have been looking for a natural No.9 following the conclusion of Michy Batshuayi’s loan from Chelsea in the summer. Maximilian Philipp spent much of pre-season up front, while Marco Reus scored one and assisted another when leading the line in the 2-1 win over Greuther Fürth in the DFB Cup last Monday.

Both are more comfortable playing wide and deep with more freedom from the opposition centre-back, though. Alcacer – who had a direct hand in a La Liga goal every 96 minutes he played after swapping Valencia for Barcelona in 2016 – should comfortably fill the gap in BVB’s squad.

"We're delighted that Paco has decided to join Dortmund and we're certain he's the kind of player that will suit our style of play," said BVB sporting director Michael Zorc. "Paco proved his qualities as a young player at Valencia, scored a lot of goals and was given the captain's armband at the age of 22."

Alcacer, who has six goals in 13 caps for Spain, could make his Bundesliga debut as soon as Friday, with Die Schwarzgelben taking on Hannover 96 in the Matchday 2 opener (kick-off 8.30PM CEST/ 6.30PM GMT/ 2.30PM ET).

Click here for more Dortmund news, views and features!