Michy Batshuayi, Thorgan Hazard and Koen Casteels have all been rewarded for their excellent Bundesliga seasons with call-ups for Belgium's preliminary World Cup squad.

The trio were named in the 28-man selection announced by coach Roberto Martinez on Monday with the Red Devils' preparation for their challenge in Russia due to begin on Tuesday.

Batshuayi only played ten Bundesliga matches for Borussia Dortmund after joining on loan from Chelsea in the Rückrunde. But his seven goals and stunning performances clearly caught the eye of Martinez, who is hopeful the ex-Marseille forward will recover completely from the foot injury that cut short his campaign.

Watch: Michy Batshuayi's Borussia Dortmund goals

Hazard enjoyed the most fruitful of his four seasons in Germany with Borussia Mönchengladbach, claiming ten goals and registering seven assists with the Foals to ensure he joins elder brother, Chelsea superstar Eden, in the squad.

Casteels, who was ever-present for Wolfsburg throughout the 2017/18 campaign, will join up with his team-mates after the second leg of the Wolves' relegation/promotion play-off against Kiel on Monday.

Divock Origi, who is on loan at Wolfsburg from Liverpool, missed out, but former Wolf Kevin De Bruyne, now of Manchester City, and Adnan Januzaj, who spent a brief and disappointing loan spell at Dortmund during the 2015/16 season, were included.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg), Matz Sels (Newcastle United)

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Laurent Ciman (Los Angeles FC), Leander Dendoncker (Anderlecht), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Thomas Meunier (Paris Saint-Germain), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Lukaku (Lazio), Christian Kabasele (Watford)

Midfielders: Yannick Carrasco (Dalian Yifang), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Mousa Dembele (Tottenham Hotspur), Marouane Fellaini (Manchester United), Youri Tielemans (Monaco), Axel Witsel (Tianjin Quanjian), Nacer Chadli (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Michy Batshuayi (Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Christian Benteke (Crystal Palace), Adnan Januzaj (Real Sociedad)

Click here for more Bundesliga news, views and features!