Union Berlin and their fans have a unique and special relationship. - © AFP/Getty Images
Union Berlin and their fans have a unique and special relationship. - © AFP/Getty Images
bundesliga

Union Berlin announce special campaign for first Bundesliga match against RB Leipzig

Newly promoted Union Berlin will become the 56th team to compete in the Bundesliga when they take to the pitch against RB Leipzig on 18 August. The club has announced a touching campaign, allowing fans to bring banners celebrating late friends and relatives.

Union won promotion to the Bundesliga for the first time last season, beating VfB Stuttgart on away goals (2-2) over two legs in the relegation/promotion play-off.

The club is now embarking on it's maiden campaign in the German top flight. However, not all Union fans have lived to see their beloved club play in the Bundesliga for the very first time - against Leipzig on Sunday 18 August 2019 (6pm CEST/5pm BST/12pm EDT).

Step forward the 'Finally There' campaign. For the small price of 13 euros (11,59 pounds, 14,49 dollars) - the same price as a standing ticket at the Stadion An der Alten Försterei - fans can have a banner created with an image of their late relatives or friends, so they too can witness the club's opening game of the 2019/20 season.

The banners are 70x70 centimetres, and are made of tear- and fire-resistant fabric. Multiple orders are possible.

'Finally There' was launched by the group Alt-Unionern, together with fan club Eisern V.I.R.U.S. and the Eisernen Botschaftern.