Robert Lewandowski and Hansi Flick have been named as the UEFA Player and Coach of the Year for 2019/20. - © DFL
Robert Lewandowski and Hansi Flick have been named as the UEFA Player and Coach of the Year for 2019/20. - © DFL

Robert Lewandowski and Hansi Flick: Bayern Munich pair win UEFA's Player and Coach of the Year awards


Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski and Hansi Flick have been rewarded for their part in the 2019/20 treble-winning campaign with UEFA's Player and Coach of the Year awards.

Lewandowski has been named UEFA's Player of the Year - as well as the Forward of the Year - for the first time after enjoying the best scoring season of his career in 2019/20. Bayern's No.9 found the net 55 times in 47 competitive matches for Bayern while also scoring four goals in six games for Poland on the international stage.

Meanwhile, Flick - who took over from Niko Kovac in November 2019, masterminded Bayern's revival to steer the club from fourth place in the Bundesliga at the time of his appointment to a second continental treble-win in the club's history, lifting the Bundesliga, DFB Cup and UEFA Champions League titles.

Watch: Bayern's treble winners!

"I have to say it's an amazing feeling," Lewandowski said after receiving the award. "This trophy is something special. I want to thank my teammates, everyone at Bayern and my family for all their support. I dreamed about winning the Champions League as a young boy, so now I'm very happy and proud to have done it with Bayern."

Lewandowski was the top scorer in all three major competitions for Bayern during the campaign with 34 goals in the Bundesliga, 15 in the UEFA Champions League and six coming in the DFB Cup.

He and Bayern have since added to their trio of trophies from last season by beginning the new campaign with two new items on their mantlepiece in the UEFA Supercup, after an extra-time victory over Sevilla, and the DFL Supercup, having beaten Borussia Dortmund 3-2 at the Allianz Arena.

Watch: All 34 of Lewandowski's goals in the Bundesliga in 2019/20!

"It's a great honour to receive this award and I would not be here without the players and the coaching team around me," Flick said. "It was a crazy year. The players did a sensational job in every game and continued to develop, building belief after each win along the way. That's the mentality that helped us to win in the end."

Elsewhere, Bayern completed a near-perfect clean sweep as Manuel Neuer and Joshua Kimmich received the award for UEFA's Goalkeeper and Defender of the Year respectively. Thomas Müller and former Bayern midfielder Thiago finished as runners-up to Manchester City's former Bundesliga star Kevin De Bruyne in the Midfielder of the Season award.