Borussia Dortmund's Jude Bellingham and Gio Reyna (l-r.) are 2022 Golden Boy candidates. - © Imago
Borussia Dortmund's Jude Bellingham and Gio Reyna (l-r.) are 2022 Golden Boy candidates. - © Imago

Jude Bellingham, Gio Reyna and Jamal Musiala among Bundesliga's 11 Golden Boy nominees


Eleven Bundesliga players have been shortlisted for the 2022 Golden Boy award, including Jude Bellingham, Gio Reyna and Jamal Musiala.

The annual prize recognises the best footballer under the age of 21 in one of Europe's top-flight leagues, per UEFA coefficient.

Mario Götze, Renato Sanches and Erling Haaland are among previous Bundesliga-based winners of the award, presented by Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport since 2003 and decided by a panel of experts.

VOTE now for your 2022 Golden Boy!

Watch: How Jamal Musiala and Jude Bellingham compare

Bellingham is one of three Borussia Dortmund players remaining on the 40-strong shortlist. The England international, who only turned 19 on 29 June, cemented his position as one of the most complete young midfielders in world football during the 2021/22 campaign. He registered six goals and 14 assists across 44 appearances in all competitions, whilst winning more challenges and covering more ground than any of his teammates.

Reyna also makes the grade. Despite various injuries restricting the US international to 13 apperances, the 19-year-old became the youngest player to reach 50 Bundesliga games - a record subsequently broken by Bayer Leverkusen's Florian Wirtz, who is a surprise omission. The 19-year-old, who made last year's top four along with fellow nominees Bellingham and Musiala, was on 10 goals and 14 assists before suffering a cruciate ligament injury in March.

Watch: The best of Giovanni Reyna

For his part, 19-year-old Musiala enjoyed a career-best season with eight goals and six assists in the colours of Bayern. The 15-time Germany international, who has four goals and one assist in 2022/23 so far, is joined by club-mates Ryan Gravenberch and Mathys Tel.

Josko Gvardiol is the sole remaining representative of 2021/22 DFB Cup winners RB Leipzig but Dortmund-loanee Ansgar Knauff's role in Eintracht Frankfurt's sensational UEFA Europa League triumph is also acknowledged with a nomination. The Germany U21 international played in every knockout fixture, scoring against Barcelona and West Ham, and was later named Young Player of the Tournament.

Ansgar Knauff enjoyed a memorable second half to 2021/22 with UEFA Europa League winners Eintracht Frankfurt. - IMAGO/Paul Terry/IMAGO/Sportimage

The list of nominees began at 80 before being whittled down to 60 and now 40. The final 20 will be announced in due course before the winner is revealed towards the end of the calendar year. Barcelona and Spain teenager Pedri won the award in 2021.

Bundesliga-based candidates in full:

Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund)
Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
Giovanni Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig)
Ryan Gravenberch (Bayern Munich)
Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
Mathys Tel (Bayern Munich)
Piero Hincapie (Bayer Leverkusen)
Ansgar Knauff (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Jan Thielmann (Cologne)
Kiliann Sildillia (Frieburg)

Click HERE to cast your vote!