Bayer Leverkusen lift the Meisterschale title after beating Augsburg on Matchday 34


Bayer Leverkusen were presented with the Bundesliga trophy for the first time in their history on Saturday, following their Matchday 34 victory over Augsburg at the BayArena.

Leverkusen were officially honoured as Bundesliga champions by Dr Marc Lenz and Dr Steffen Merkel, the CEOs of DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga. 

The pair handed over the Meisterschale to Leverkusen for the first time in the club's history, and did so in front of their own fans following the 2-1 victory over Augsburg.

That result meant that Xabi Alonso's side are now immortalised as the first team to go an entire Bundesliga season unbeaten.

Watch: Leverkusen's name engraved on the Meisterschale

It's not as straightforward in Bundesliga 2, however, where the champion is yet to be confirmed.

St. Pauli and Holstein Kiel - who have already earned promotion - are in the running for the title going into the final day, with the DFL preparing two scenarios for the official handing over of the trophy.

  • If Pauli win the title: The trophy will be presented on Monday, 20 May at Spielbudenplatz in Hamburg. Merkel will be joined by Ansgar Schwenken from the DFL to hand the title to Pauli.
  • If Kiel win the title: The trophy will be presented on Sunday, 19 May, following Kiel's away game against Hannover at the Heinz von Heiden Arena. Lenz and Schwenken will do the honours.