Geneva - Bundesliga duo FC Bayern München and Borussia Dortmund have been rewarded for their outstanding efforts in 2012/13, winning the European Club Association's (ECA) European Team of the Year and Best Sporting Progress award respectively.

The ECA applauded Bayern's "outstanding performances domestically and in Europe last season", before handing over the trophy to Bayern chief executive and ECA chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.


Dortmund's phenomenal run to the UEFA Champions League final ensured club representative Christian Hockenjos didn't go home empty handed. The Yellow-Blacks fell at the first hurdle in 2011/12, but came back stronger a year later, storming out of the "group of death" and ousting Real Madrid CF en route to Wembley.