Weston McKennie scored the fastest hat-trick in USMNT history in October 2019. - © DFL
Weston McKennie scored the fastest hat-trick in USMNT history in October 2019. - © DFL

Schalke's Weston McKennie nominated for US Soccer Men's Player of the Year

After an outstanding year for club and country, Schalke's Weston McKennie has been nominated for the USMNT's 2019 Player of the Year award.

McKennie's record-breaking 2019 has been recognised by his country with his nomination for the Men's Player of the Year award.

The versatile 20-year-old midfielder is the only Bundesliga player to have been nominated for the award after establishing himself as a key man for Gregg Berhalter's side.

In total, McKennie has scored five goals and claimed two assists from 12 international appearances during the current calendar year. But his - and arguably the US team's - highlight came in October's FIFA World Cup qualifying win over Cuba.

Schalke's No.2 scored the fastest hat-trick in USMNT history, and the first of his professional career. His first strike - after just 32 seconds - was the second-fastest in US history. He completed his hat-trick by the 13th minute as Berhalter's men romped to a 7-0 win.

Before his unbelievable autumn, McKennie had helped the USA to the final of the 2019 Gold Cup, starting five of their six games and captaining the team in their defeat to Mexico in the final.

At the age of just 21, McKennie has already won 19 caps and scored six goals for the USA. - gettyimages

The five other nominees for the award are former Borussia Dortmund star Christian Pulisic, Aaron Long, Jordan Morris, Tim Ream and Gyasi Zardes.

Votes for the US Player of the Year awards are collected from National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2019, members of the US Soccer Board of Directors, US Soccer Athletes' Council, National Women's Soccer League head coaches for the USWNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the USMNT, select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the USWNT award.

Voting starts on 28 November and closes on 6 December at 11:59pm ET. The winners will be announced during the second week of December.