Bundesliga stars Jude Bellingham and Sadio Mane (l-r.) are among the 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player nominees. - © Imago/ DFL
Bundesliga stars Jude Bellingham and Sadio Mane (l-r.) are among the 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player nominees. - © Imago/ DFL

Sadio Mane and Jude Bellingham nominated for 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player


Bayern Munich forward Sadio Mane and Borussia Dortmund midfielder Jude Bellingham have been shortlisted for the 2022 Best FIFA Men's Player award, alongside the likes of Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and former Bundesliga stars Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland.

It's been quite the year for Mane, who won the Africa Cup of Nations with Senegal and helped his country qualify for the 2022 World Cup before swapping Liverpool for Bayern in July.

The 30-year-old, who ultimately missed the finals through injury, has since scored 11 times for the record champions. He was also named African Player of the Year earlier in 2022, and finished second to Karim Benzema in the final 2022 Ballon d'Or poll.

Watch: All Sadio Mane's Bundesliga goals and assists so far

Bellingham's put in equally noteworthy displays for club and country. The 19-year-old midfielder has become a key player for Dortmund, and was one of the standout players of any age group at the World Cup, helping England reach the quarter-final stage.

The Bundesliga's toughest tackler so far this season, the 2022 Golden Boy runner-up has also made history as the youngest Englishman to reach five UEFA Champions League goals.

Watch: Jude Bellingham - made in the Bundesliga

Former Dortmund forward Haaland and ex-Bayern striker Lewandowski - who left the Bundesliga for Manchester City and Barcelona respectively over the summer - are also in the running. Achraf Hakimi and Kevin De Bruyne are two more nominees with prior, and formative, experience of the Bundesliga.

Best FIFA Men's Player nominees in full:

Julian Alvarez (Argentina / River Plate / Manchester City)
Jude Bellingham (England / Borussia Dortmund)
Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Norway / Borussia Dortmund / Manchester City)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco / Paris Saint-Germain)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern Munich / Barcelona)
Sadio Mane (Senegal / Liverpool / Bayern Munich)
Kylian Mbappe (France / Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain)
Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid)
Neymar (Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)
Vinicius Junior (Brazil / Real Madrid)