• Bender brothers and Nils Petersen the over-23 players.
  • World Cup winner Ginter also included.
  • Germany drawn in a group with Mexico, South Korea and Fiji.

Twin brothers Lars and Sven Bender as well as FIFA World Cup winner Matthias Ginter have been named in the Germany squad for the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro between 5 and 21 August.

Download the official Bundesliga app for free!

In accordance with FIFA rules on squads for Olympic football tournaments, three players over the age of 23 are permitted in each squad, with the Bender brothers and fellow 27-year-old Nils Petersen of SC Freiburg providing added experience in a group that boasts more than 1000 Bundesliga appearances and over 100 top-flight goals between them.

The rest of the squad contains some more familiar names from the Under-21 side, such as Leon Goretzka, Julian Brandt and Davie Selke, alongside senior German internationals in Max Meyer and 2014 FIFA World Cup winner Ginter.

Hrubesch happy

Germany U-21 coach Horst Hrubesch, who will manage the team at the tournament, believes he and DFB sporting director Hans-Dieter Flick have come up with a good blend of youth and experience. “We’re all excited for Rio and it will be a unique experience for us. We have a good mix of current U21 players and older players, and even with the difficulty of selecting a team, the quality of the squad is very high.”

The squad will meet in Frankfurt on 28 July, before departing for Brazil two days later. Germany’s group games will be against Mexico (4 August, 22:00CEST) in Salvador, South Korea (7 August, 21:00CEST) in Salvador and Fiji (10 August, 21:00CEST) in Belo Horizonte.

Germany squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Timo Horn (1. FC Köln), Jannik Huth (1. FSV Mainz 05)

Defenders: Robert Bauer (FC Ingolstadt 04), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Philipp Max (FC Augsburg), Niklas Süle, Jeremy Toljan (both TSG 1899 Hoffenheim)

Midfielders/forwards: Lars Bender (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Sven Bender (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Brandt (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Max Christiansen (FC Ingolstadt 04), Serge Gnabry (Arsenal FC), Leon Goretzka, Max Meyer (both FC Schalke 04), Nils Petersen (SC Freiburg), Grischa Prömel (Karlsruher SC), Davie Selke (RB Leipzig)

On standby: Leonardo Bittencourt (1. FC Köln), Christian Günter, Sebastian Kerk (both SC Freiburg), Eric Oelschlägel (SV Werder Bremen)