Marco Reus and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang both got on the scoresheet as Borussia Dortmund defeated Qäbälä FK 4-0 to clinch a place in the UEFA Europa League knockout stages.

Borussia Dortmund 4-0 Qäbälä FK

Goals: 1-0 Reus (28’), 2-0 Aubameyang (45’), 3-0 Zenjov (o.g. 67’) 4-0, Mkhitaryan (70’)

Dominant in the Bundesliga in recent weeks, Dortmund carried their domestic form onto the European scene. Chances came and were not taken by Aubameyang and Henrikh Mkhitaryan before Reus swept forward and fired home from the edge of the box. With traffic almost exclusively one way, a second was inevitable, the only surprise was that it took Aubameyang until just before the break to score it.

An Aubameyang burst down the right afforded Gonzalo Castro the chance to test Dawid Pietrzkiewicz in the visitors’ goal; a low Marcel Schmelzer cross allowed Mkhitaryan to test the woodwork with Pietrzkiewicz beaten. Increasingly occupied, the Qäbälä 'keeper did parry an Adnan Januzaj drive only to then be beaten by Sergei Zenjov's miscued header and a Mkhitaryan rocket as Dortmund cruised home.

Man of the match

Mkhitaryan may not have found the net as much as Reus and Aubameyang in recent weeks, but the Armenia international's intelligent play is a major reason why the pair - and BVB - have been so prolific.

Talking point

With Dortmund through already, Tuchel can shuffle his squad before Christmas, which can only bode well for their Bundesliga challenge.

Match stats

  • Dortmund have won seven times in an unbeaten eight-game run under Tuchel in European competition.
  • Dortmund have now scored in their last 31 competitive outings, a new club record.
  • Reus has scored in his last three competitive outings, and has 17 goals in 32 European games.
  • Mkhitaryan's assist for Reus' goal was his 12th in all competitions this season, the most of any player in Europe's top five leagues.


Dortmund: Weidenfeller – Piszczek, Bender, Hummels (c), Schmelzer – Ginter (Gündogan 62’), Weigl – Mkhitaryan, Castro, Reus (Januzaj 46’) – Aubameyang (Ramos 68’)

Qäbälä: Pietrzkiewicz – Vernydub, Stankovic, Rafael Santos, Ricardinho – Meza (Jamalov 76'), Gai – Dashdemirov, Zenjov (Zargarov 86'), Dodo (c) - Antonov (Pereyra 69')