• Löw calls up Bremen midfielder Serge Gnabry.
  • Yannick Gerhardt of Wolfsburg also gets debut call-up.
  • Leverkusen’s Benjamin Henrichs joins Mannschaft squad.

Three young Bundesliga talents have seen their efforts at club level rewarded with call-ups to the German national team. Coach Joachim Löw selected Serge Gnabry of SV Werder Bremen, Benjamin Henrichs of Bayer 04 Leverkusen, and VfL Wolfsburg’s Yannick Gerhardt for the first time.

First caps for Germany could be in store for three young Bundesliga players after they were named to Löw’s 25-man squad to face San Marino (11 November) and Italy (15 November).

Serge Gnabry helped lead Germany’s 2016 Olympic football team to a silver medal in Brazil before moving to Bremen where he has excelled as a first-team regular under Alexander Nouri.

Benjamin Henrichs’ tough tackling and good positional play has made him a stand-out for Leverkusen despite being just 19 years old, while Wolfsburg’s Yannick Gerhardt (22) has a cultured left foot that makes him a useful player to cover for first-choice left-back Jonas Hector.

Henrichs' play in Leverkusen's defence has made him stand out.

In addition to the three debutants, a pair of young players, Leon Goretzka of FC Schalke 04 and Leverkusen’s Jonathan Tah, have been recalled into the senior side after turning out recently for the Under 21s. The longtime Germany coach brought Mario Gomez back into the squad after he recovered from an injury that kept him out of recent internationals.

Germany are hoping to make it four wins from four when they travel to San Marino next week before making a relatively easy journey to Milan to take on Italy in a high-profile friendly.

Full Germany squad:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern München), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern München), Yannick Gerhardt (VfL Wolfsburg), Jonas Hector (1. FC Köln), Benjamin Henrichs (Bayer Leverkusen), Benedikt Höwedes (Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Bayern München), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern München), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Sebastian Rudy (1899 Hoffenheim), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)

Midfielders/Forwards: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Serge Gnabry (Werder Bremen), Mario Gomez (VfL Wolfsburg), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Thomas Müller (Bayern München), Kevin Volland (Bayer Leverkusen), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund)