Frankfurt - Eintracht Frankfurt secured their place in the UEFA Europa League group stages with a 2-1 win (4-1 on aggregate) over Qarabag FK.

A vociferous home crowd saw Alexander Meier open the scoring for the Eagles after just ten minutes. Reynaldo equalised for Qarabag with almost an hour gone, but the inspired Takeshi Inui scored Frankfurt’s second of the night to seal their place the group stages of a European competition for the first time in seven years.

Meier strikes again

Meier, who scored a brace in Frankfurt’s first-leg victory last week, had the ball in the net after just eight minutes only for his effort to be ruled out for offside. The 30-year-old broke the deadlock just two minutes later, however, as Sebastian Rode’s cross found the veteran striker at the far post to calmly side-football the ball past Qarabag keeper Miro Varvodic, putting the hosts 3-0 up on aggregate.

Qarabag had never scored against a German opponent and rarely looked like finding the net during the first period. Chumbinho’s 24th-minute effort was the visitors' first real attempt at goal, but it failed to test Kevin Trapp in the Frankfurt goal, while Rashad Sadigov’s free-kick minutes later also failed to find the target.

Reynaldo pulls one back

Stefan Aigner went close for Frankfurt after the restart with a powerful effort, before Qarabag pulled a goal back after 57 minutes. Reynaldo, who had come on as a substitute just moments before, ran onto Leroy George’s pass and beat Trapp to level the score on the night.

Reynaldo almost grabbed his second of the night after dribbling into the Frankfurt box, but saw his curling effort drift just past the post with only Trapp to beat. He was left to rue that miss as the hosts scored their second just two minutes later: Jan Rosenthal’s perfect cross found Inui, who headed home to hand Armin Veh’s side victory.


Frankfurt: Trapp - Celozzi, Zambrano, Anderson, Oczipka - Flum, Schwegler (Russ 63') - Aigner, Rode (Rosenthal 63'), Inui - Meier (Joselu 70')

Qarabag: Varvodic - Medvedev, R. F. Sadigov, Teli, Agolli - Yusifov (Qarayev 67'), Richard - George, Chumbinho, Nadirov (Reynaldo 56') - Gelashvili (Kapalongo 82')