Munich - Eight Bundesliga players are in the running for the 12th edition of UEFA's annual Team of the Year award with voting now open for the 2012 selection.

Germany’s three Champions League participants Borussia Dortmund, Bayern Munich and Schalke 04 account for practically a quarter of the 40 candidates, emphasising once again how strong the Bundesliga is becoming, also beyond its own borders.

Eight Bundesliga stars

Last year, over five million votes were cast in the poll, conducted by UEFA on their official website, and Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Mats Hummels, Jakub Blaszczykowski, Marco Reus, Robert Lewandowski, Mario Gomez and Klaas-Jan Huntelaar are all in the running this time around with voting open now.

Votes can be placed until Friday 4 January with the final line-up announced on Wednesday 16 January on Place your vote for one of the many Bundesliga stars here.