16 years have passed since Borussia Mönchengladbach last competed on the European stage, but on Thursday evening the Foals will nonetheless be hoping to get out of the Group C blocks quickly at Cypriot outfit AEL Limassol FC in the UEFA Europa League (kick-off 19:00 CET).

Both sides are looking to leave a lasting impression as they get set to make their debuts in a UEFA competition group stage. Gladbach in particular will be hoping the encounter serves as a welcome reminder of their quality, after picking up just one win in three at the start of the 2012/13 Bundesliga season.

Three left behind

Despite their indifferent form, the mood within the Borussia camp is one of excitement and anticipation. "I'm really looking forward to the experience," said defender Tony Jantschke. However, they'll need to improve on the performance that saw them lose 3-2 to 1. FC Nuremberg if they want to get off to a good start. "Mistakes, such as the ones we committed against Nuremberg on Saturday have to be cut out," explained captain Filip Daems, who, alongside Juan Arango and summer signing Luuk de Jong, did not travel to Cyprus.

Head coach Lucien Favre watched Limassol's UEFA Champions League play-off defeat to Anderlecht and is well aware of their quality. "They've got several foreigners within their ranks from places likes Portugal and Brazil," said Favre of the side who have won their last five home games in UEFA competitions dating back to 1987. "They work incredibly hard and are physically very strong, which makes them very dangerous from set-pieces."

Gladbach have their work cut out if they want to replicate past glories and Favre is refusing to let his charges take AEL for granted. "We've got to produce a good performance," stated the Swiss coach. "If we play well, then we'll also be successful."

Probable Line-ups:

Limassol: Degra - Marcos Airosa, Ouon, Dosa Junior, Carlitos - Dede, Nikolaou - Paulo Sergio, Bebe, Edmar - Vouho

Mönchengladbach: ter Stegen - Jantschke, Stranzl, Dominguez (Brouwers), Wendt - Nordtveit, Cigerci - Herrmann, Ring - Xhaka - Hanke (de Camargo)

James Thorogood