USA forward Aron Johannsson says he'll gladly play anywhere, as long as it means regular game time with Werder Bremen.

A centre forward by trade, the 27-year-old has featured in the Green-Whites' last four matches in all competitions - on the right-hand side of attack.

"It doesn't matter where I play," Johannsson told Germany's leading sports specialist publication kicker. "The important thing is that I play. I'd even play in goal, but I think [Jiri] Pavlenka has that covered at the moment."

Werder head coach Florian Kohfeldt (l.) says he is a big fan of Johannsson's (r.) qualities and attitude. © imago

Johannsson has been plagued by injury problems since joining Bremen from Dutch outfit Alkmaar in summer 2015, but is enjoying a new lease of life under current head coach Florian Kohfeldt.

"He's been to hell and back on the injury front, but he's always stayed positive," Kohfeldt said of Johannsson, who made his first Bundesliga start since September 2016 in Werder's 3-1 win over Wolfsburg last weekend. "He doesn't let anything get in the way of him playing his game."

Watch: Highlights of Werder's relegation six-pointer with Wolfsburg

Although Johannsson is clearly held in high regard by Kohfeldt, the Alabama native is taking nothing for granted as he looks to nail down a regular starting berth.

"Competition is high," he admitted. "All the forwards are very versatile, it doesn't matter who plays. It makes it difficult for the coach, but everyone is performing to a high level right now. That's great for him and the whole team."

Werder, 15th in the Bundesliga after 22 rounds of fixtures, travel to Freiburg on Saturday afternoon (kick-off: 15:30CET/14:30GMT/09:30ET).

Click here for the Freiburg vs. Werder Bremen Match Centre!