Frankfurt first test of Wolfsburg's title credentials

Wolfsburg - Not content with a runners-up medal in the Bundesliga last season, nor the DFB Cup and Supercup trophies they have since added to their silverware cabinet, VfL Wolfsburg are aiming high in the 2015/16 campaign - and are eager to show what they can do against Eintracht Frankfurt on Sunday (kick-off 15:30 CEST / 13:30 GMT).

The Wolves are favourites for the points, particularly as in pre-season the mercurial Kevin De Bruyne has continued the sparkling form he showed last term. On top of that, the Volkswagen Arena was a fortress for VfL in 2014/15, where they were the only Bundesliga side not to lose on home turf.

That is not to say Frankfurt are without hope, however. For one thing they have Alexander Meier, who finished as the league's top scorer last season. Check out the rest of the essential pre-match information below:



Top Facts

    Frankfurt have only won two of their last 19 against the Wolves, their last victory coming in Wolfsburg on 15 December 2012 (2-0) back when Armin Veh was in charge of the Eagles for the first time.
    Eintracht have recorded four wins, drawn ten and lost 12 against Wolfsburg: their worst head-to-head record in the Bundesliga, not including FC Augsburg.
    Wolfsburg have, however, only won one of their last four home games against Eintracht (2-1 on 29 March 2014) - drawing the other two and losing one.
    In 13 Bundesliga encounters on Wolfsburg soil between the two, there has never been a goalless draw.
    Only once have Frankfurt come away from Wolfsburg with a clean sheet (the aforementioned 2-0 win in December 2012).
    Frankfurt striker Alexander Meier has scored a goal in six of his last nine games against Wolfsburg.
    Wolfsburg’s Naldo has scored more Bundesliga goals against Frankfurt than against any other club (five, including his one and only hat-trick back when he played for SV Werder Bremen).
    Current Eintracht head coach Armin Veh was in charge of the Wolves for just seven months following Wolfsburg’s 2008/09 title win.