Borussia Dortmund have gone for a bit of Dutch courage in a bid to mount a Bundesliga title challenge next season, but they are not the only club to have placed their faith in a tactician from across the border.

Peter Bosz is the man the Westphalians hope can close the 18-point deficit they had on champions Bayern Munich in the season just ended, and perhaps replicate the success of just one of his compatriots, Louis van Gaal. takes a look back at some of the other 16 Dutch coaches before Bosz to have plied their trade in the Bundesliga.

Louis van Gaal

(Bayern Munich 2009-2011)

Louis van Gaal led Bayern to a league and cup double, but missed out on a treble by losing the Champions League final.

Van Gaal was the last man from the Netherlands to lead a German club to silverware, winning a Bundesliga and DFB Cup double with Bayern Munich in 2009/10. He went agonisingly close to pre-empting Jupp Heynckes' treble-winning success, losing the UEFA Champions League final that same season to Inter Milan, although he did go on to win the DFL Supercup before Bayern missed out on the title in 2011 – to Dortmund.

Huub Stevens

(Schalke 1996-2002, Hertha Berlin 2002/03, Cologne 2004/05, Hamburg 2007/08, Schalke 2011/12, Stuttgart 2014-2015, Hoffenheim 2015/16)

Stevens led Schalke to the UEFA Cup, and they were just one kick away from winning the Bundesliga in 2001.

Van Gaal's legacy is not as great as the one left by a man at Dortmund's local rivals Schalke, however. Huub Stevens had two spells on the bench in Gelsenkirchen and he was named the Royal Blues' coach of the century. He may not have won the Bundesliga with Schalke, but he went closer than anybody else: in a bitterly cruel finale to the 2000/01 season they were just seconds away from being crowned champions before Bayern snatched the title from their grasp with the last kick of the campaign. He nevertheless brought the UEFA Cup and two DFB Pokals to Gelsenkirchen.

Bert van Marwijk

(Borussia Dortmund 2004-2006, Hamburg 2013/14)

Bert van Marwijk had two spells in the Bundesliga, the longest with Bosz's club Dortmund.

Bosz is following in the footsteps of another Dutchman in Dortmund: Bert van Marwijk sat on the BVB bench 100 times between 2004 and 2006. The Westphalians finished seventh in each of his two seasons in charge and Van Marwijk returned to Germany in 2013 at the helm of Hamburg, although he would last only until February 2014 after a run of seven straight defeats.

Jos Luhukay

(Uerdingen 2000-2002, Paderborn 2005/06, Gladbach 2007/08, Augsburg 2009-2012, Hertha Berlin 2012-2015, Stuttgart 2016)

Luhukay developed a reputation for getting sides promoted to the Bundesliga, succeeding three times.

One of the most experienced Dutch campaigners in German football is Jos Luhukay, who has no fewer than four clubs under his belt. His longest spell was with Hertha Berlin, although he then enjoyed success by keeping Augsburg in the top flight and also coached at both Borussia Mönchengladbach and Cologne. His biggest successes in Germany came in Bundesliga 2, which he won both with Gladbach (2008) and Hertha (2013), while he also led Augsburg to their first-ever promotion to the top flight in 2011.

Rinus Michels

(Cologne 1980-1984, Bayer Leverkusen 1988/89)

Michels (l.) could not quite deliver the same success at Cologne as he had with Ajax, Barcelona and the Netherlands.

Rinus Michels spent three years in charge of Cologne, although he did not quite succeed in bringing the 'total football' brand he had invented at Ajax to the Rhine. He came with a glowing reputation, having won the European Cup with Ajax and the Spanish league title and cup with Barcelona, as well as the Fairs Cup, but he left Cologne with just one trophy: The 1983 DFB Cup. He ended his coaching career at Bayer Leverkusen in 1989, a year after one of his finest hour, the Netherlands' triumph EURO '88.

He was not the first Dutch coach in the Bundesliga, though. That award goes to Jan Notermans, who took charge of just 16 games as coach of Arminia Bielefeld from February to October 1972. He has been followed by the likes of Arie Haan, Martin Jol, Dick Advocaat, Gert Verbeek, Andries Jonker and now, Peter Bosz.