No fewer than 12 Bundesliga players have been shortlisted for a place in the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2015.

FC Bayern München, winners of the Bundesliga title in 2015, lead the way with an impressive 11 names on the 55-man list, with Manuel Neuer, David Alaba, Philipp Lahm, Jerome Boateng, Xabi Alonso, Thiago Alcantara, Arturo Vidal, Arjen Robben, Douglas Costa, Thomas Müller and Robert Lewandowski all up for a place in the star-studded line-up.

Meanwhile, Borussia Dortmund defender and 2014 FIFA World Cup winner with Germany Mats Hummels has also been included.

Result on 11 January

Decided by FIFPro, the worldwide players’ union, the final XI will be revealed once the votes of 25,000 professional footballers from 70 countries around the world have been counted. The result will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Award ceremony at Zurich’s Kongresshaus on 11 January 2016, where the winner of the Ballon d’Or, the FIFA Puskas Award for the goal of the year and the FIFA World Coach of the Year award will also be revealed.

Neuer, Robben, Müller, Vidal and Lewandowski are also in the running for the Ballon d’Or, football’s highest individual honour, while Marcel Ndjeng of Bundesliga 2 side SC Paderborn 07 is on the shortlist for the Puskas award following his stunning volley in a pre-season friendly against English side Bolton Wanderers on 13 July.