Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich have been drawn against Benfica, Ajax and AEK Athens in Group E of the 2018/19 UEFA Champions League group stage, while Borussia Dortmund will face UEFA Europa League holders Atletico Madrid, AS Monaco and Club Brugge in Group A.

Last season's Bundesliga runners-up Schalke, who make their first Champions League appearance in four years, have been handed the tough draw of Lokomotiv Moscow, Porto and Galatasaray - the champions of Russia, Portugal and Turkey, respectively - in Group D.

Competition debutants Hoffenheim welcome English champions Manchester City, as well as Shakhtar Donetsk and Lyon, to Sinsheim, which will be the smallest town ever to host Champions League football.

The first round of group fixtures will be played on 18/19 September, with UEFA to confirm the exact schedule in the coming days.

Watch: The last time Dortmund faced Monaco, the fans came together in solidarity in the face of adversity

Draw in full

Group A
Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Monaco, Club Brugge

Group B
Barcelona, Tottenham Hotspur, PSV Eindhoven, Inter Milan

Group C
Paris Saint-Germain, Napoli, Liverpool, Red Star Belgrade

Group D
Lokomotiv Moscow, Porto, Schalke, Galatasaray

Group E
Bayern Munich, Benfica, Ajax, AEK Athens

Group F
Manchester City, Shakhtar Donetsk, Lyon, Hoffenheim

Group G
Real Madrid, Roma, CSKA Moscow, Viktoria Plzen

Group H
Juventus, Manchester United, Valencia, Young Boys Bern

Click here for more Bundesliga news and features!