Relentless Leipzig cement top spot with win in Freiburg

Bundesliga leaders RB Leipzig won a seventh successive league game on Friday evening, kicking off Matchday 12 with a thrilling 4-1 victory away to SC Freiburg.

SC Freiburg 1-4 RB Leipzig

Goals: 0-1 Keita (2'), 1-1 Niederlechner (15'), 1-2 Werner (21'), 1-3 Werner (35'), 1-4 Sabitzer (79')

Sitting three points clear at the top of the table going into this match, the visitors understandably began with a swagger and took the lead after just 80 seconds when Naby Keita hit a stunning long-range drive into the top corner. Freiburg equalised against the run of play shortly afterwards through Florian Niederlechner's well-taken header, but Timo Werner restored Leipzig's advantage before half-time with two excellent goals.

Download the Official Bundesliga App!

The hosts were much improved after the break and no longer afforded their visitors the same space to operate in. However, the Black Forest outfit struggled to break down their guests and never seriously threatened to score again. Indeed, Leipzig remained threatening throughout and Marcel Sabitzer put the result beyond any doubt late on, finishing smartly from Emil Forsberg's pass to help coach Ralph Hasenhüttl's side stay top of the table for another week.

- © imago / Eibner

Talking point

Another week, another record for Leipzig. The eastern German club are still unbeaten, have more points at this stage of a season than any other promoted side in Bundesliga history and are on the longest current winning streak of any top-flight side.

Match stats

    Werner has now scored seven times in 2016/17; a personal single-season record for the forward.Niederlechner netted his first headed goal for Freiburg. Leipzig have scored more goals on the break (nine) than any other Bundesliga side this season.


SC Freiburg: Schwolow – Stenzel, Gulde (Föhrenbach 70'), Torrejon (Haberer 46'), Günter – Frantz (c), Höfler, Abrashi, Grifo – Niederlechner, Petersen (Möller Daehli 77')

Coach: Christian Streich

RB Leipzig: Gulacsi – Schmitz, Orban (c), Ilsanker, Halstenberg – Sabitzer (Khedira 87'), Demme, Keita, Forsberg – Poulsen (Burke 78'), Werner (Selke 84')

Coach: Ralph Hasenhüttl