Joshua Kimmich helped Bayern Munich's season get off to a flying start in the 2018 Supercup. - © DFL DEUTSCHE FUSSBALL LIGA / Simon Hofmann
Joshua Kimmich helped Bayern Munich's season get off to a flying start in the 2018 Supercup. - © DFL DEUTSCHE FUSSBALL LIGA / Simon Hofmann
Bundesliga

"Bayern Munich stars will feed off failure" says Joshua Kimmich

Joshua Kimmich has insisted Bayern Munich's DFB Cup final disappointment last season will only spur him on as the champions prepare to launch their season against Hoffenheim on Friday (kick-off 8:30pm CEST/7:30pm BST/2:30pm ET).

At just 23, Kimmich already has a collection of three Bundesliga titles, one DFB Cup and a FIFA Confederations Cup winner's medal, but his impressive haul of silverware does not stop Bayern's DFB Cup final defeat to Eintracht Frankfurt last May from smarting.

Watch: Are Bayern ready for seventh heaven?

Instead of feeling sorry for himself, Kimmich will draw on that painful memory to scale greater heights in 2018/19.

"I don't have any problem motivating myself, I'm up for it. When you see the way the season ended with the defeat in the cup final [...] it pushes you on more. You learn to appreciate a DFB Cup win and a league title more. Through failure, you learn to more appreciate success, which hopefully we'll have again soon. We have the quality for that," said the former Stuttgart and RB Leipzig man.

- © gettyimages / Stuart Franklin

"What is key is what he brings, what he brings tactically. It's a blend of man-management and what input he has in the team. That input can create more respect than things you have achieved before. The here and now always counts for more. It's about whether the coach brings us on, how he is around the stars and how he sends us out onto the pitch. In the end, he'll be judged on success."

Click here for more Bayern Munich news and features!

- © imago / Hübner