Bayern midfield duo in the running for FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014

Zurich - FC Bayern München duo and are among the 15 midfielders shortlisted for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014.

Strong Bundesliga presence

They join team-mates Philipp Lahm, David Alaba, Jerome Boateng and Manuel Neuer, as well as Borussia Dortmund centre-back Mats Hummels as contenders to make the 2014 Team of the Year.

The candidates have been released in stages, with the 15 forward nominees due to be unveiled on Monday 1 December, completing the 55-man shortlist. The FIFA FIFPro World XI is voted for by professional players across the globe, and the final XI will be announced at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala in Zurich on 12 January 2015.

Neuer, Lahm and French wing wizard Franck Ribery all made the previous 2013 FIFPro World XI following a calendar year of unprecedented success for Bayern, which included an historic Bundesliga, FIFA Club World Cup, UEFA Champions League and DFB Cup quadruple.

Over the last few days, several high-profile names in world football have given their backing to a German player to win the 2014 Ballon d'Or, including Joachim Löw, Louis Van Gaal, Michel Platini and Johann Cruyff.

The full list of midfield nominees:

Xabi Alonso (Spain / FC Bayern München)
Angel Di Maria (Argentina / Manchester United FC)
Cesc Fabregas (Spain / Chelsea FC)
Eden Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea FC)
Xavi Hernandez (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Andres Iniesta (Spain / FC Barcelona)
Toni Kroos (Germany / Real Madrid CF)
Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid CF)
Mesut Özil (Germany / Arsenal FC)
Andrea Pirlo (Italy / Juventus FC)
Paul Pogba (France / Juventus FC)
James Rodriguez (Colombia / Real Madrid CF)
Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany / FC Bayern München)
Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire / Manchester City FC)
Arturo Vidal (Chile / Juventus FC)