Munich - It's curtain up for the 52nd season of the Bundesliga with the highly anticipated pre-campaign appetiser of the DFL Supercup on 13 August, with league runners-up Borussia Dortmund playing host to double winners FC Bayern München.

A capacity crowd at the is already guaranteed for the showpiece event between Germany's big two and to help you warm up for it, has compiled some interesting Supercup-related bits and pieces...

The tournament began life under the auspices of the DFB in 1987, champions FC Bayern beating DFB Cup winners Hamburger SV 2-1 in Frankfurt (pictured) to lift the inaugural trophy. It ran in its original form for a further nine years, with SV Werder Bremen and Dortmund racking up three wins apiece, Bayern victorious again in 1990 and 1. FC Kaiserslautern and VfB Stuttgart each adding the pot to their league title the following two years. After a 14-year hiatus the Supercup, now organised by the DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga, returned in 2010, Bayern beating league runners-up FC Schalke 04 2-0. The Royal Blues then edged Ruhr district rivals Dortmund in turn, before BVB came up short at Bayern in 2012. They got their revenge last time out though, which means...

...that Germany's undisputed top two sides go into the 2014 showdown level on four wins each, one ahead of Bremen on the all-time chart. This is also the third year running that Dortmund and Bayern have gone head-to-head in the Supercup – all the more remarkable given that their Signal-Iduna Park meeting last season was the first time the trophy had been consecutively contested by the same two clubs. That particular score stands at one each, although the two old rivals did meet once before, in the 'old' version of the encounter back in 1989. On that occasion, cup winners Dortmund came out on top against champions Bayern in a seven-goal thriller at Kaiserslautern's Fritz-Walter Stadion.

1991 saw a Supercup with a difference, with two semi-finals reflecting the imminent formalisation of German reunification. 1. FC Kaiserslautern, champions of the Federal Republic, travelled to take on East German double winners FC Hansa Rostock (pictured) and came away from the Ostseestadion with a 2-1 win. DFB Cup winners Bremen meanwhile came out on top against Eisenhüttenstädter FC Stahl, beaten finalists in the soon-to-be-dissolved German Democratic Republic's last cup final. The two West German sides then went head-to-head in Hanover, with Kaiserslautern prevailing 3-1. It was the curtain-raiser to a season in which the East's top two sides, Rostock and Dynamo Dresden, were integrated into a temporarily expanded 20-club Bundesliga.

Bremen's Wynton Rufer is the all-time Supercup top scorer on four goals, one in the aforementioned 1991 semi-final included. The New Zealand forward's record is most likely to be challenged this year by either Thomas Müller or Arjen Robben (pictured), the FC Bayern duo each having scored twice to date in the pre-season special. Dortmund's Marco Reus bagged a brace against Bayern last season, but is still recovering from injury and will miss out on this one.

Three of the 14 finals to date have been decided by way of a penalty shoot-out. Bremen and Dortmund squeezed past Leverkusen and Kaiserslautern respectively in 1992 and 1996, with both games still tied after 120 minutes. The modern-version of the Supercup has meanwhile dispensed with extra time, heading straight for the spot after the regulation 90. Schalke saw off neighbours Dortmund by way of a shoot-out to win the trophy for the first and so far only time in 2011, keeper saving twice.