Hoofddorp, Netherlands - Four Bundesliga midfielders have been named on the 15-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2013.

FC Bayern München's , and were all nominated, alongside Borussia Dortmund attacker .

They join a quintet of Bundesliga defenders as well as FC Bayern custodian Manuel Neuer in the running to make the Team of the Year. The final XI will be announced at a ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland on 13 January 2014, where the winner of the prestigious FIFA Ballon D'Or will also be unveiled. No fewer than seven Bundesliga stars, six of them from FC Bayern, are still in the running for football's highest individual honour.

The other midfielders on the FIFPro shortlist are:

Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid CF); Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF); Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona); Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC); Andres Iniesta (FC Barcelona); Isco (Real Madrid CF); Mesut Özil (Arsenal FC); Andrea Pirlo (Juventus); Yaya Touré (Manchester City FC); Arturo Vidal (Juventus); Xavi (FC Barcelona).