Nyon, Switzerland - 2013 has been a year of undoubted success for German football, and for FC Bayern München and Borussia Dortmund in particular. The two sides dazzled Europe by reaching the final of the UEFA Champions League at Wembley in May, which the Reds won 2-1.

Now, a host of stars from both sides, including seasoned veterans as well as first-time nominees, have been recognised for their efforts by European football’s governing body with a place on the shortlist for the UEFA.com user’s Team of the Year 2013.

Bayern dominate

Of the 40 players shortlisted in total, no fewer than 13 ply their trade in the Bundesliga. From quadruple-winners FC Bayern, goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, Philipp Lahm, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben and Thomas Müller have all made the cut, as have debut nominees Mario Mandzukic, David Alaba and Dante.

Dortmund are represented by Mats Hummels, Ilkay Gündogan, Marco Reus and Robert Lewandowski, all of whom are in the running to feature in a UEFA.com team of the year for the first time.

Voting is now open and will close on Thursday 9 January 2014, with the definitive team set to be named on UEFA.com on Wednesday 15 January.