Nyon - No less than five Bundesliga-based players have made the ten-man shortlist for the 2012/13 UEFA Best Player in Europe Award.

Four of those come from FC Bayern Munich - Thomas Müller, Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger and Frank Ribery - while Borussia Dortmund striker Robert Lewandowski has also been nominated.


Bayern's contingent each played starring roles as the Bavarian outfit claimed an historic last season. "Four players, that's more than from any other team," commented the club's chief executive Karl-Heinz Rummenigge from the club's training base in Trentino, Italy. "It's confirmation of the quality we have in our squad."

Lewandowski's season ultimately ended in disappointment after defeat to the Reds in Wembley's Champions League final, but his 36 goals in all competitions, including four in one game against Real Madrid, established him as one of the continent's best strikers last term.

From ten to three, to one

Voted for by a panel of journalists from each of UEFA's member organisations, the list will be whittled down to three names on 6 August, before the winner is announced at the draw for the 2013/14 Champions League group stages in Monaco on Thursday 29 August.

The award was won by FC Barcelona's Lionel Messi in 2011, before his team-mate Andres Iniesta triumphed in 2012. The full list of nominees can be viewed below.

Thomas Müller (GER) - FC Bayern Munich
Franck Ribery (FRA) - FC Bayern Munich
Arjen Robben (NED) - FC Bayern Munich
Bastian Schweinsteiger (GER) - FC Bayern Munich
Robert Lewandowski (POL) - Borussia Dortmund
Gareth Bale (WAL) - Tottenham Hotspur FC
Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) - Real Madrid CF
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE) - Paris Saint-Germain FC
Lionel Messi (ARG) - FC Barcelona
Robin van Persie (NED) - Manchester United FC