Germany's preliminary Euro 2016 squad includes uncapped trio Julian Brandt, Julian Weigl and Joshua Kimmich (l-r.).
Germany's preliminary Euro 2016 squad includes uncapped trio Julian Brandt, Julian Weigl and Joshua Kimmich (l-r.).

Uncapped Bundesliga trio make Germany's provisional Euro 2016 squad

Bayer 04 Leverkusen's Julian Brandt, Borussia Dortmund's Julian Weigl and FC Bayern München's Joshua Kimmich have been named in Germany's provisional 27-man squad for next month's UEFA European Championships in France.

The uncapped midfield trio take their places in the side alongside 14 other Bundesliga players, eight of whom helped Germany to their fourth FIFA World Cup title in Brazil two years ago.

"We decided on these players because we’re convinced we’ve got the right mix of experience and carefreeness," explained Germany head coach Joachim Löw at Tuesday's press conference in Berlin. "Overall it's a squad that possesses high quality as well as flexibility and variation. They're the makings of a successful Euros."

Germany's 27-man squad in full

Germany begin their pre-tournament training camp on 24 May in Ascona, Italy. The world champions take on Slovakia in a friendly on 29 May, with Löw required to submit his final 23-man squad to UEFA two days later. Their preparations conclude with another friendly on 4 June against Hungary in Gelsenkirchen.

The three-time European champions have been drawn in Euro 2016 Group C along with Ukraine, Poland and Northern Ireland.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Bernd Leno (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (FC Barcelona)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern München), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Jonas Hector (1. FC Köln), Benedikt Höwedes (FC Schalke 04), Emre Can (Liverpool FC), Shkodran Mustafi (Valencia CF), Antonio Rüdiger (AS Roma), Sebastian Rudy (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim)

Midfielders/Strikers: Mario Götze (FC Bayern München), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Karim Bellarabi (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (VfL Wolfsburg), Andre Schürrle (VfL Wolfsburg), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid CF), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Manchester United FC), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Mesut Özil (Arsenal FC), Lukas Podolski (Galatasaray AS), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern München), Julian Brandt (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Leroy Sane (FC Schalke 04), Julian Weigl (Borussia Dortmund), Mario Gomez (Besiktas JK), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München)