Munich - The 16th relegation play-off in the history of the Bundesliga kicks off on Thursday with Bundesliga ever-presents Hamburger SV and Bundesliga 2 side SpVgg Greuther Fürth both set to feature in the two-legged tie for the first time on Thursday 15 April (20:30 CET/18:30 GMT) before the return leg on Sunday 18 April (17:00 CET/ 15:00 GMT).

bundesliga.com tells the tale of the relegation play-off, which dates as far back as the 1981/82 campaign in Germany's top flight.