Frankfurt - The DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga has released the official schedule for Matchdays 1 and 2 of the 2014/15 Bundesliga 2 season.

Germany's second tier kicks off three weeks ahead of the 2014/15 Bundesliga season with several eye-catching fixtures to watch out for.

Start in Düsseldorf


The season starts with Fortuna Düsseldorf hosting relegated Eintracht Braunschweig on Friday, 1 August (kick-off 18:30 GMT / 20:30 CEST), while promoted RB Leipzig's first game in the second tier will be played on Saturday, 2 August against VfR Aalen. The first Monday night game of the new campaign features league heavyweights 1. FC Kaiserslautern and TSV 1860 Munich.

Matchday 2 also promises to start with a bang when FC St. Pauli travel to VfR Aalen on Friday, 8 August with FSV Frankfurt 1899 hosting Karlsruher SC and 1. FC Union Berlin entertaining Fortuna Düsseldorf the same evening. The Franconian derby between Greuther Fürth and 1. FC Nürnberg completes the weekend with a kick-off of 18:15 GMT / 20:15 CEST on Monday, 11 August.

The precise dates for Matchdays 3 to 6 will be announced over the course of next week, when the first four matchdays of the 2014/15 Bundesliga season will also be scheduled.

Please click below for the complete schedule of Matchdays 1 and 2 in Bundesliga 2.